Jeffrey outshines the pack in Georgetown Grand Prix

first_imgTWO- time Caribbean Motor Racing champion,Kristian Jeffrey,returned and tuned up infine style for his next assignment by sweeping a field of seasoned Karters in theGeorgetown Grand Prix Friday evening last.In front of a packed facility, Jeffrey thrilled racing fans with some excellent drivingskills, racing to three wins in as many starts, overcoming former karting champion,now radical driving coach,Orry Hunte as well as his Canadian Driving coach DarrylTimmers.In the first race, Jeffrey was slow off the line compared to Elliot Vieira but managedto recoup that gap before the first lap elapsed, passing him with a routine ‘in and out’move to take the lead.By the end of the 10 laps, Jeffrey had opened a four and a half second gap over the rest of the field, with Hunte second and Vieira third.Race two was almost a carbon copy of Race one, even though it sported a 50%inverted grid (the first 50% of the total competitors undergo an inversion of theirfinishing position) as is commonly used in the Formula 4 events.Vieira produced another excellent start to take the lead with Jeffrey rising from thirdto second on lap two and then eventually taking the lead three laps in and then finallywinning by another four seconds;clocking the fastest-time of the evening with 29.295.Vieira finished second this time around with Mike Gonzalves third.The various winners pose with their trophies for the GT Motorsports Georgetown Grand Prix on Friday eveningRace three had Jeffrey on Pole once more alongside Vieira this time.The secondfastest times were used to choose grid positions and once more, it was an almostcarbon copy of the earlier races,with Jeffrey winning ahead of Vieira and Hunte.Overall,Jeffrey was adjudged the champion driver for his three wins.In the 60CC Sunburst Kids Cup, Jeremy Ten Pow took the Champion driver class,having won two of the three contests, beating Justin Ten Pow and Nathan Rahamanin race two, and then Nathan Rahaman and Jeremy in Race three.The First race was won by Nathan with Paige Mendonca finishing second and Justin third.BothTen-Pows as well as Mendonca are from the Pure Racing family.In the 125cc, Mikhail Persaud emerged the best driver of the night having swept uptwo wins and one third place finish. He finished third in Race one behindrace winner and Pure Racing’s John Phang and second place Elan Rahaman.Persaud,however,returned to finish strong in the next two outings, overcoming Rahaman who finished second on both occasions with Phang picking up third in race two and Faraud Mohamed third in race three• On the senior 125cc end, Trinidadian Bridget Singh won both of the events of thenight ahead of Stefan Jeffrey and Terry Singh in race one and Terry Singh andEmma Vieira in Race two.Both races were led for a considerable amount of time by Pure Racing’s Matthew Phang,who in the end suffered Kart troubles.The Easy (Honda four Stroke) Cup light class had an entertaining battle betweenStephen Vieira and Trinidadian Ravi Singh,with Ravi taking race one ahead ofStephen and Shan Seejattan,and then Stephen taking race two ahead of theTrinidadian and Seejattan.Race three however had surprise entrant Timmers taking the chequered flag ahead ofVieira and Terry Singh, with Vieira being crowned champion driver for that class.In the heavy section of the class, Seejattan dominated with two wins over RameezMohammed (two second place finishes) for the champion driver award withRaymond Seebaran and Haniff Mohammed each picking up a third.The event was sponsored by Secure Innovations and Concepts, Sunburst, STAGBeer, Ocean Spray Hotel, Windjammer International, E Networks, BM Soat AutoSales, Rays Auto Spares and Auto Sales and GT Motorsports.last_img read more